Interested in buying a property? Please visit…


Interested in buying a property? Please visit…

Board of Directors

John White

John White,

Independent Non-Executive Chairman

John White was appointed as the Independent Non-Executive Chairman of the Group in September 2013 and is Chairman of the Nomination Committee. He was Group Chairman of Persimmon, a position he held between April 2006 and April 2011, having previously been Group Chief Executive Officer since 1993. He has spent all his working life in the housing industry and has unrivalled experience of working within the sector.


Chairman of the Nominations Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Clive Fenton

Clive Fenton,

Chief Executive Officer

Clive Fenton joined the Group as Chief Executive Officer in February 2014. He has a wealth of both housebuilding and business experience, having spent almost 30 years with Barratt Developments. He joined Barratt in 1983 and worked in a number of finance and operational roles before being appointed to the Group Board in 2003 with overall responsibility for all operations in the south of England. He was also responsible for group strategic land, partnership housing and retirement homes. More recently he was Chief Executive Officer of Mount Anvil, a development company specialising in the residential property market in central London.


Member of the Nominations Committee.

Rowan Baker

Rowan Baker,

Chief Financial Officer

Rowan joined McCarthy & Stone in January 2012 as Group Tax Consultant before becoming Group Financial Controller, playing a lead role in the company’s successful IPO and return to the stock market in November 2015. Before joining McCarthy & Stone, she held various roles in industry and private practice, most notably at Barclays Bank plc and PricewaterhouseCoopers. Rowan is a Chartered Accountant and a Chartered Tax Adviser, and also holds an MA (Hons) in Law from Clare College, Cambridge.


Rowan is not a member of any of the Board Committees.

John Tonkiss

John Tonkiss,

Chief Operating Officer

John Tonkiss joined McCarthy & Stone in February 2014 and became a Board Director in October 2015. He previously held the roles of Operations Director – North and Business Transformation Director, and became Group National Operations Director in September 2016. He is responsible for the Group’s nine operating regions and also leads the improvement change programme to accelerate business growth, enhance customer experience and improve operating performance. John was previously Chief Executive Officer of Human Recognition Systems, the UK’s leading biometric solutions provider. Prior to that, he worked for ten years for the Unite Group, the UK’s largest provider of purpose-built student accommodation, becoming Group Chief Operating Officer in 2008. John’s earlier career included senior operational management roles at TRW Automotive Electronics, one of the world’s largest automotive suppliers and a number of engineering roles at Lucas Automotive Electronics.


John is not a member of any of the Board Committees.

Frank Nelson

Frank Nelson,

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Frank Nelson joined the Board in November 2013 and is the Senior Independent Director and Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee. He is a qualified accountant, and he has over 25 years of experience in the housebuilding, infrastructure and energy sectors and was Finance Director of the housebuilding and construction group Galliford Try plc from 2000 until 2012. He was also responsible for the Groups PFI/PPP activities. He was previously Finance Director of Try Group plc from 1987, leading the company through its flotation in 1989 and subsequent merger with Galliford. More recently, Frank was the Interim Chief Financial Officer of Lamprell, the Dubai-based offshore construction company, where he helped complete a complex refinancing before leaving in October 2013. He is presently the Senior Independent designate Director of HICL Infrastructure, a NED at Telford Homes plc and the Senior Independent Director with Eurocell plc.


Chairman of the Risk and Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee.

Mike Parsons

Mike Parsons,

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mike Parsons joined the Board in November 2013 as a Non-Executive Director and is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. He founded Barchester Healthcare twenty three years ago, following a successful career in advertising. Award-winning Barchester has grown rapidly, based on a premium positioning in the specialist care homes sector. The company has grown organically and, through the acquisition in 2004 of Westminster Healthcare for £525 million, became the fourth largest independent healthcare provider in the UK.


Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Risk and Audit Committee and the Nominations Committee.

Geeta Nanda

Geeta Nanda,

Independent Non-Executive Director

Geeta Nanda joined the Board in April 2015 as a Non-Executive Director. She has more than 26 years’ experience in the housing sector and currently serves as Chief Executive Officer of Thames Valley Housing Association Limited. Previously, she served as Group Operations Director at Notting Hill Housing Trust, and earlier in her career held the position of Tenant Services Director at Octavia Housing and Care, responsible for the delivery of housing, support and care services to 4,000 tenants. Geeta has 23 years’ experience in Non-Executive roles and has served on the Boards of two housing organisations and national and local charities. In 2013, she was awarded an OBE for achievements in social housing.


Member of the Risk and Audit Committee, the Remuneration Committee and Nominations Committee.